Find Us on Facebook

ivghof-2016-processThe International Video Game Hall of Fame and Museum are pleased to announce that we will be opening up nominations to the public as part of the 2016 Nomination Process.

On Feb. 8 we will post a link to a form for nominations. Nominations will be open for a month before moving on in the process outlined below.

The information below covers the categories and number of inductees for each category as well as the process for this year’s class of inductees.

Categories, Criteria and Number of Recipients

Video Game Competitors

Individuals nominated should exemplify the best characteristics in gaming, including but not limited to:

  • Convey sportsmanship in the community
  • Made significant contributions to the community or industry
  • Strong consideration given based on world records earned, significant achievements and promotion of the positive aspects of playing and/or creating games.

Subcategories include:

  • Golden Age Competitors (2 inductees between 1970s – 1989)
  • The 90’s (90 – 99) (1 inductee)
  • The 2000’s (2000-2011) (1 inductee)


  • Golden Age Games (1 inductee 1970s – 1990)
  • The 90’s (90 – 99) (1 inductee)
  • The 2000’s (2000-2009) (1 inductee)
  • The 2010 to present (1 inductee)

Game Designer

Honoring individuals, companies, or organizations who have shaped the history of the global electronic gaming industry through their historic game creations or technological innovations. (1 Inductee)

Industry Leaders

Honoring individuals, companies, or organizations who have inspired the growth, vitality, and prosperity of the global electronic gaming industry through their business wisdom and creative vision. (1 Inductee)

IVGHOF Community Action Award

Presented to individuals who selflessly serve the global gaming industry through charitable activities while inspiring others to participate in harmonious community-building enterprises. (1 Inductee)

Walter Day Lifetime Achievement Award

Honoring individuals or organizations who have served the electronic gaming industry over the course of a long career, enriching the industry with their selfless contributions, strong leadership, and creative vision. The point of this award is that they have served for a long time, whereas the Community Action Award is directed at people who performed benevolent and charitable tasks during a recent small time period. (1 Inductee)

Nomination Process

It has been suggested that we open the nominations for the IVGHOF to the public via this website. The public will be provided with a form where they may suggest two names per category. This nomination process would run for four(4) weeks. Once the names are collected, the selection committee will compile and count entries for each name to narrow it down for the final voting pool.

Selection Process

The selection process is a two part process.
The first part would be the selection committee narrowing down the nominations to a set number of individuals per category.

This narrowed down list would be posted to the website with a bio for each nominee.

The second part is where a non-disclosure agreement (NDA) would be sent to potential voters who are selected by the IVGHOF selection committee to place their vote on who gets inducted for each year.  Voters will be selected each year by the selection committee and are subject to change.  Voters are not allowed to disclose that they participated in voting on who is inducted into the IVGHOF. Any revelation they were involved would remove them from future opportunities. Numbers of voting groups may vary from year to year and those in the pool may change from year to year and will include, but are not limited to, past inductees of the IVGHOF, video game journalists, and gaming professionals. They would have 2 weeks to vote.

Once the votes are in, the majority vote (or two majority votes) wins for the categories depending on the number of inductees for each category.

4 Responses to 2016 Nomination and Induction Process